Jump to main content.

Printable PDF (1-2pp, 25k)

EPA Brownfields Program

EPA's Brownfields Program empowers states, communities, and other stakeholders to work together to prevent, assess, safely clean up, and sustainably reuse brownfields. A brownfield site is real property, the expansion, redevelopment, or reuse of which may be complicated by the presence or potential presence of a hazardous substance, pollutant, or contaminant. The Small Business Liability Relief and Brownfields Revitalization Act of 2002, as amended by the Brownfields Utilization, Investment, and Local Development Act of 2018, was passed to help states and communities around the country clean up and revitalize brownfields sites. Under this law, EPA provides financial assistance to eligible applicants through four competitive grant programs: assessment grants, revolving loan fund grants, cleanup grants, and job training grants. Additionally, funding support is provided to state and tribal response programs through a separate mechanism.

Revolving Loan Fund Grant

$400,000 for hazardous substances

$400,000 for petroleum

EPA has selected the East Central Intergovernmental Association for a brownfields revolving loan fund coalition grant. The grant will be used to capitalize a revolving loan fund from which the East Central Intergovernmental Association will provide up to six loans and one or two subgrants to support cleanup activities for sites contaminated with hazardous substances and petroleum. Grant funds also will be used to market the RLF, oversee site cleanups, and help prepare community involvement plans. RLF activities will initially focus on Dubuque County Census Tract 1. Coalition partners are the Cities of Andover, Asbury, Bellevue, Calamus, Camanche, Cascade, Charlotte, Clinton, Delmar, DeWitt, Dubuque, Dundee, Durant, Dyersville, Earlville, Edgewood, Greeley, Goose Lake, Grand Mound, Holy Cross, Lost Nation, Lowden, Luxemburg, Maquoketa, Mechanicsville, Peosta, Preston, Ryan, Sabula, Stanwood, Tipton, West Branch, Wheatland, and Worthington; and the Counties of Cedar, Clinton, Dubuque, and Jackson.


For further information, including specific grant contacts, additional grant information, brownfields news and events, and publications and links, visit the EPA Brownfields Web site (http://www.epa.gov/brownfields).

EPA Region 7 Brownfields Team
EPA Region 7 Brownfields Web site (https://www.epa.gov/brownfields/brownfields-and-land-revitalization-iowa-kansas-missouri-nebraska-and-nine-tribal)

Grant Recipient: East Central Intergovernmental Association, IA

The information presented in this fact sheet comes from the grant proposal; EPA cannot attest to the accuracy of this information. The cooperative agreement for the grant has not yet been negotiated. Therefore, activities described in this fact sheet are subject to change.

April 2018
United States
Protection Agency
Washington, D.C. 20460
Land and
Management (5105T)

Quick Reference Fact Sheet

Using This Site | About PDF | Site Archive
Please email comments on this website to:Brownfields-Web-Comments@epamail.epa.gov

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.